About IEEE Transactions on Affective Computing

Contact Information

Elisabeth Andre
Augsburg University, Germany

TAC Publication Coordinator
IEEE Computer Society
10662 Los Vaqueros Circle
Los Alamitos, CA 90720, USA
EMAIL: TOAC@computer.org
PHONE: +1.714.821.8380
FAX: +1.714.761.1784

Scope of TAC

The IEEE Transactions on Affective Computing is a cross-disciplinary and international archive journal aimed at disseminating results of research on the design of systems that can recognize, interpret, and simulate human emotions and related affective phenomena. The journal publishes original research on the principles and theories explaining why and how affective factors condition interaction between humans and technology, on how affective sensing and simulation techniques can inform our understanding of human affective processes, and on the design, implementation and evaluation of systems that carefully consider affect among the factors that influence their usability. Surveys of existing work are considered for publication when they propose a new viewpoint on the history and the perspective on this domain.

The journal covers but is not limited to the following topics:

Sensing & analysis: Algorithms and features for the recognition of affective state from face and body gestures; Analysis of text and spoken language for emotion recognition; Analysis of prosody and voice quality of affective speech; Recognition of auditory and visual affect bursts; Recognition of affective state from central (e.g. fMRI, EEG) and peripheral (e.g. GSR) physiological measures; Methods for multi-modal recognition of affective state; Recognition of group emotion; Methods of data collection with respect to psychological issues as mood induction and elicitation or technical methodology as motion capturing; Tools and methods of annotation for provision of emotional corpora.

(Cyber) psychology & behavior: Clarification of concepts related to ‘affective computing’ (e.g., emotion, mood, personality, attitude) in ways that facilitate their use in computing; Computational models of human emotion processes (e.g., decision-making models that account for the influence of emotion; predictive models of user emotional state); Studies on cross-cultural, group and cross-language differences in emotional expression; Contributions to standards and markup language for affective computing.

Behavior Generation & User Interaction: Computational models of visual, acoustic and textual emotional expression for synthetic and robotic agents; Models of verbal and nonverbal expression of various forms of affect that facilitate machine implementation; Methods to adapt interaction with technology to the affective state of users; Computational methods for influencing the emotional state of people; New methods for defining and evaluating the usability of affective systems and the role of affect in usability; Methods of emotional profiling and adaptation in mid- to long-term interaction; Application of affective computing including education, health care, entertainment, customer service, design, vehicle operation, social agents/robotics, affective ambient intelligence, customer experience measurement, multimedia retrieval, surveillance systems, biometrics, music retrieval and generation.

Steering Committee Members

IEEE Computer Society

Aladdin AyeshJonathan Gratch, Peter Robinson, & Mohammad Soleymani (Secretary)

IEEE Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society

Naoyuki Kubota & Andreas Wendemuth

IEEE Computational Intelligence Society

Bao-Liang Lu

Editorial Board


Elisabeth Andre - Augsburg University, Germany

Associate Editors

Nadia Berthouze - University College London

Joost Broekens - Leiden University

Ginevra Castellano - Uppsala University

Mohamed Chetouani - Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Chloe Clavel - Télécom ParisTech

Mehdi Dastani - Utrecht University

Celso M. de Melo - US Army Research Lab

Julien Epps - The University of New South Wales

Corina Roxana Girju - University of Illinois

Roland Goecke - University of Canberra

Guodong Guo - West Virgina University

Dirk Heylen - University of Twente

Jesse Hoey - University of Waterloo

Leong Hong-VA - The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Bin Hu - Lanzhou University

Gary Mc Keown - Queens University Belfast

Florian Metze - Carnegie Mellon University

Fabien Ringeval - Université Grenoble Alpes

Albert Ali Salah - Bogazici University

Stefan Scherer - University of Southern California

Friedhelm Schwenker - University of Ulm

Mohammad Soleymani - University of Geneva

Carlos Strapparava - Fondazione Bruno Kessler

Khiet Truong - University of Twente

Michel Valstar - University of Nottingham

Alessandro Vinciarelli - University of Glasgow

Shangfei Wang - University of Science and Technology of China

Dan Zhang - Tsinghua University

Wenming Zheng - Southeast University, China